Uncategorized

The Little Things

My spring break wasn’t as relaxing or fun as I thought it would be. It was just one thing after another. I felt like I needed to get away from it all.

So what did I do on the last day of break? I drove.

I got in my car, turned the radio up, rolled the windows down and got a coffee for my little excursion not knowing where I would end up. I started in Napa on Highway 29 cruising down past the small town of Yountville, which is where I got my favorite salted caramel iced coffee and some raspberry macaroons from Bouchon Bakery. From there I hit the road.

I cruised until I turned right on Highway 12. I was on my way to Sonoma. What I love about driving through Sonoma are the wide open spaces, those gently rolling hills with the vineyards covering almost every inch. And between the rows of vines sometimes there are small yellow flowers blooming. There’s something freeing about taking a drive when you feel restless or anxious. I felt like I could go anywhere.

I went to visit a tasting room named Ceja Vineyards off the side of the highway. I went in and talked to a young man who poured tastings, one after another, as I flipped through a book called Women of the Vine. I was relaxed and the sun was shining. As you can image, I felt better already!

My next stop was the Fremont Diner (also on Highway 12), where I had their Nashville Fried Chicken Sandwich. It hit the spot in the best possible way. I sipped my drink and soaked in the sun.

I continued my journey, going down Highway 12 onto 116 and drove through more hills and farmland until I reached Petaluma. Once I hit town I turned around. I felt like my mini drive had done what I needed it to do.

I think it’s important to take time for yourself and enjoy the simple things. It can be as small as a cup of coffee in the morning or taking a drive. I always have a jar of flowers on my desk while I work. There’s something so uplifting about having something so bright and beautiful on my desk that makes me smile. It’s the little things that make a difference in my everyday life and make me smile just a little bit.

Leave a Reply

