Opinion / UCA Blog

A Wildly Mediocre Reflection

By Alyse de Leon

When walking across Sproul Plaza on my way to class and I look at my fellow classmates and see students from various organizations trying helplessly to flyer others as they walk by. Students plugged into their phones as they walk to class. Students studying with a cup of coffee nearby. From my perspective it seems everyone has their life together. The University of California, Berkeley is one of the best public universities in the world, filled with passionate people who are excited about what they are doing. Not only are students smart, but they are also driven.

When I look at the people around me I can’t help but wonder if I am at their level. Sure, we all got into the same school, but the Berkeley student is a hybrid-juggling-machine with a multitude of commitments. Those commitments can include anything from internships, clubs, class and a job.

 It’s easy to feel as if you are a small wave in a moving sea. It’s easy to feel lost. And most importantly, it’s easy to feel as if you do not belong. As I sat in Cafe Milano this morning I looked around and I wondered for a second if anyone else felt the same way as I did. Did anyone see me as smart, put together, or successful? And then it it hit me. The answer was probably yes because it’s easy to see what is on the outside and to make assumptions of others.

While I do find myself feeling wildly mediocre at times, I reflect and remember all of the things I have going for me. I remember that I go to an amazing university and admissions doesn’t select just anyone.

I take the time to list and write down all of the things I am fortunate to have. I also remember I have a part time job, usually an internship, and I’m also involved in things at school with an almost twenty units. That is a lot to juggle! Everyone has a right to be here. We are all smart and intelligent people who have the ability to receive an amazing education.

It’s easy to forget all of your accomplishments when you’re stressed and burned out. If you happened to stress out about midterms, remember that you are an amazing individual and you deserve to be here. Sometimes it just take a little reflection to see that you aren’t wildly mediocre, and only human.

Leave a comment